Skip to main content
Skip navigation

 

EndNote X9

EndNote Online

Endnote provides the ability to synchronise references with your Endnote Online (previously called EndNote Web) library, which can be used as an effective and time-saving collaborative tool.

Users create or re-activate their existing EndNote Online account from within the EndNote desktop (e.g. in X9: Edit menu, then Preferences, then Sync), as the level of “EndNote Online” features available is linked to the EndNote desktop version used.

Transferring references between EndNote desktop and EndNote Online

To configure your local EndNote library to connect with EndNote Online:

  1. On the EndNote library window toolbar, select Sync with EndNote Online.
  2. Enter your Endnote Online account details.

Note: If you don’t have an EndNote Online account, you can register by selecting Sign Up.

The Groups panel now includes a Sync status button and a Sync Conflicts group in case of synchronisation conflicts.


Note: It is vital to create a back-up of your EndNote library before syncing it with EndNote Online.

View your EndNote Online library from the Help menu in EndNote desktop, and select EndNote Online.

Sharing Groups with collaborators in EndNote Online

Groups of references can be shared with others from your EndNote Online library:

  1. Access your EndNote Online library from the Help menu in EndNote desktop.
  2. Under the Organise tab select Manage My Groups. Share groups from the Manage Sharing button next to the groups you wish to share with other users.

Note: Collaborators must have signed up for an EndNote Online account from their EndNote desktop.

Responsible Officer: University Librarian/Page Contact: Library Systems & Web Coordinator