Your bibliography will be automatically formatted using the output style that is currently selected in EndNote, which you can change from within both EndNote and Word.
In Word, use the Bibliography group on the EndNote ribbon (Mac: style drop-down on the floating EndNote toolbar in Word for Mac) to make changes to the bibliographic style. If the required style is not immediately available from the drop-down, it can be found by selecting the Select Another Style option.
For more formatting options use the EndNote Configure Bibliography dialog in Microsoft Word. It opens when you select the launch button at the bottom right of the Bibliography group on the EndNote ribbon (Mac: Bibliography Settings on the CWYW drop-down of the floating EndNote toolbar in Word for Mac). This dialog box is also available from the Format Bibliography button on the toolbar. You can now select from two tabs.
The various chapters of your paper or thesis may exist as a number of subdocuments, each with EndNote generated citations and a bibliography at the end. When these subdocuments are combined to a master document EndNote needs to be managed to produce one merged bibliography.
To create a single bibliography from multiple documents:
There may be times when you want to create a bibliography without an associated paper. We call this an independent bibliography. Each of the four procedures described below can be used to create an independent bibliography.
References can be dragged from an EndNote library to a Word document. The references are sorted and formatted according to the rules of the selected style.
A bibliography is generated. The stand-alone citations above the bibliography can be deleted and the bibliography can be printed.
Use the Copy Formatted command to quickly create and copy a bibliography that you can paste into a Word document or anywhere else. The references are sorted and formatted according to the rules of the selected style.
The font used for the Copy Formatted command is the General Display Font which can be changed by choosing Preferences from the Edit menu, selecting Display Fonts, and choosing a new font and size under the General Display Font heading. All text style information (such as bold and italic) is retained if you paste into a program that recognizes RTF (Rich Text Format) text.
To Copy Formatted references from EndNote and paste them into a Word document:
To export references from a library:
To print references directly from EndNote, go to the File menu and select Print. Alternatively, select Print Preview to format references onscreen.
Note: These are quick ways to view your formatted references on paper or on screen; no special page layout options are provided. Typical uses might include trying out various output styles, printing a list of references to take to the library with you, printing your notes, or generating a complete printout of the references in an EndNote library.
+61 2 6125 5111
The Australian National University, Canberra
CRICOS Provider : 00120C
ABN : 52 234 063 906