Skip to main content
Skip navigation

 

EndNote X9

Find Full-Text

EndNote can locate full text files online by using data stored in your references. Once found, EndNote downloads and attaches the files to the references.

  1. Multiple references can be selected and Find Full Text can be activated from the Find Full Text button on the toolbar or by selecting References and then Find Full Text from the menu.
  2. A temporary group set called Find Full Text is only visible in the Integrated Library & Online Search Mode or the Local Library Mode (available on the toolbar). It displays the progress and then the final result of the search for full text articles.

Tip: For ANU students and staff, to enable the Find Full Text functionality on your own computer or laptop, activate the Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text (MAC: EndNote > Preferences > Find Full Text) menu dialog and replace any entries in the OpenURL Path field with http://jn8sf5hk5v.search.serialssolutions.com and in the Authenticate with URL field with https://virtual.anu.edu.au/login.

Find Full Text should also work when you are off campus. You will have to authenticate (Uni ID and ISIS/HORUS password only, don't select any of the options on the Find Full Text login dialog).

Note: You may discover that the Find Full Text feature doesn’t often work to your full satisfaction. The challenge for the EndNote developers is that while OpenURL is supposed to be an open standard, each commercial vendor implements their support for this slightly differently in their link resolver products. Also, EndNote is taught to read through HTML and scripts on web pages hosted by various publishers and databases. These pages change frequently, and so EndNote often needs to be re-taught how to find PDFs on newly designed pages.

Responsible Officer: University Librarian/Page Contact: Library Systems & Web Coordinator