This book invites you on a trip around the globe, uncovering layer by layer the complex, yet intriguing facets of English spoken world-wide. The busy streets of London, the scorched vistas of Australia, the colourful and noisy landscapes of New Delhi - English can be heard everywhere. But what are the specific features of these Englishes? What cultural and socio-linguistic realities underlie their use? This book brings this exciting and ever-changing world of Englishes right to your door!
David Crystal's classic English as a Global Language considers the history, present status and future of the English language, focusing on its role as the leading international language. English has been deemed the most 'successful' language ever, with 1500 million speakers internationally, presenting a difficult task to those who wish to investigate it in its entirety. However, Crystal explores the subject in a measured but engaging way, always backing up observations with facts and figures. Written in a detailed and fascinating manner, this is a book written by an expert both for specialists in the subject and for general readers interested in the English language.
This volume makes a significant contribution to the emerging paradigm of English as an International Language (EIL) by exploring various aspects of the English language and its pedagogy in the context of the globalization of this language. The books aims to expand the paradigm and also establish new grounds for thinking, research and practice.
This volume provides a collection of 27 linguistic studies and contributions that shed light on the evolution of different Englishes world-wide (varieties, learner Englishes, dialects, creoles) from a broad spectrum of different perspectives, including both synchronic and diachronic approaches. What makes the volume unique is that it is the first ever contribution to the field which includes a section exclusively committed towards testing, discussing and refining Schneider's (2007) Dynamic Model against recent realities of English world-wide. These realities include a wide variety of case studies ranging from regions socio-linguistically as diverse as South Africa, the Phillipines, Cyprus or Germany. The book offers both empirical and theoretical perspectives on the evolution of World Englishes. In doing so, it provides contributions with a theoretical focus on the topic as well as cross-varietal accounts; it sheds light on individual Englishes from different geographical regions and offers new perspectives on "old" varieties.
Introducing Global Englishes provides comprehensive coverage of relevant research in the fields of World Englishes, English as a Lingua Franca, and English as an International Language. This book introduces students to the current socio-linguistic uses of the English language, using a range of engaging and accessible examples from newspapers (Observer, Independent, Wall Street Journal, etc.), advertisements, and television shows. The book explains key concepts connected to the historical and contemporary spread of English, and explores the social, economic, educational, and political implications of English's rise as a world language. It includes comprehensive classroom-based activities, case studies, research tasks, assessment prompts, and extensive online resources. Introducing Global Englishes is essential reading for students coming to this subject for the first time.
The Mouton World Atlas of Variation in English (WAVE) presents grammatical variation in spontaneous spoken English, mapping 235 features in 48 varieties of English (traditional dialects, high-contact mother tongue Englishes, and indiginised second-language Englishes) and 26 English-based Pidgins and Creoles in 8 Anglophone world regions (Africa, Asia, Australia, British Isles, the Caribbean, North America, the Pacific, and the South Atlantic). The analyses of the 74 varieties are based on descriptive materials, naturalistic corpus data, and native speaker knowledge.
The notion of a 'standard' variety of English has been the subject of a considerable body of research. Studies have tended to focus on the standard features of British and American English. However, more recently interest has turned to the other varieties of English that have developed around the world and the ways in which these have also been standardised. This volume provides the first book-length exploration of 'standard Englishes', with chapters on areas as diverse as Canada, the Caribbean, Africa, Asia, New Zealand and the South Pacific. This is a timely and important topic, edited by a well-known scholar in the field, with contributions by the leading experts on each major variety of English discussed. The book presents in full the criteria for defining a standard variety, and each chapter compares standards in both spoken and written English and explores the notion of register within standard varieties."
This monograph comprises eight papers, most of which originated as presentations given at international conferences or guest lectures. These papers deal with the problematic nature of English as a global language, and discuss what makes texts authentic and reliable for linguistic analysis, Scots in Ulster and in Scotland, forms and functions of English in Southeast Asia, the spread of rhyming slang, and varieties of ELT. The volume concludes with an annotated bibliography of the most important publications devoted to varieties of English around the world.
Faces of English explores the phenomenon of increasing dialects, varieties, and creoles, even as the spread of globalization supports an apparently growing uniformity among nations. The book's chapters supply descriptions of Jamaican English in Toronto, English as an L2 in a South African mining township, Chinese and English contact in Singapore, unexpected, emergent variants in Canadian English, and innovations in the English of West Virginia. Further, the book offers some perspective on Internet English, as well as on abiding uniformities in the lexicon and grammar of standard varieties. In the analyses of this heterogeneous growth such considerations as speakers' socio-linguistic profiles, phonological, morpho-syntactic, and lexical variables, frequencies, and typological patterns provide ample insight in the current status of English both in oral and electronic communities.
The book is the first of its kind to establish Cognitive Linguistics as a research paradigm within the field of world Englishes. The authors survey the main tenets of both areas of linguistic enquiry, and suggest that the theoretical and methodological apparatus developed both within Cognitive Linguistics generally, and within its novel sub-discipline Cognitive Socio-linguistics, can overcome certain limitations inherent in traditional approaches to cultural variation in language. They present a case study of the linguistic realisation of the cultural model of community in African English as an exemplar for the investigation of cultural models in other varieties of English. Corpus-linguistic methods are combined with conceptual metaphor analysis and blending theory to elucidate a vast network of conceptualizations salient to speakers of African English. The findings, based on computer corpora and a range of additional sources, are discussed against the background of work in anthropology, religious studies, and political science. The book also reflects on the role of English in intercultural communication and concludes with a comparison of Cognitive Linguistics and pragmatic functionalism, placing the former in the wider framework of a hermeneutic philosophy that stresses dialogic understanding.