A library database is a large, searchable, online collection of published scholarly materials.
The ANU Library subscribes to approximately 540 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items, including scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, images, streaming videos, music, and other academic publications.
Below is a list of databases relevant to Latin American Studies. You can see more databases on the Library's e-resources and databases page.
Please note, the databases listed are available to ANU students and staff on and off campus. Login and password are required for remote access.
A free Spanish-language resource with full text sources from Latin America and the Caribbean. Source documents include books, articles, theses, conference proceedings and working papers. A joint project between UNESCO and the Human Info NGO.
Descarga Cultura.UNAM is an innovative digital platform, created by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), offering Spanish language content in audio format, available to listen to online or download for free. Updated frequently, the collection comprises a broad variety of genres and content types. The web platform and mobile application give users access to a wealth of digital content, including literature, poetry, essays, theatre, music, conferences, lectures, and master classes, taught by some of the most outstanding academics and experts from the Hispanic world. It also includes a broad cross-section of well-known authors, personally narrating, and discussing their works.
Provides full text access to a solid body of Spanish-language and bilingual publications in both the academic and lifestyle spheres. It offers unique content and an indexing scheme and interface specifically geared toward the Spanish speaking researcher.
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 10,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet.
Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement that address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region. The database features 103,624 pages of prose, poetry and drama.
Oxford Art Online includes full text articles in visual arts and art history, image links, thumbnail art images and line drawings. Coverage includes time periods, movement, medium, geography, styles, cultures and people.
A subject index of scholarly books, journal articles and websites on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics compiled by the Modern Language Association of America. More than sixty languages are represented in the index with coverage starting from 1926 onwards.
A guide to Latin American literature across the humanities and social sciences covering a range of topics from general overviews to highly-specialized themes. Each entry provides a synoptic, bibliographic guide to the key literature and most useful online resources in the area of research.
A reference resource providing access to full text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content. Subject coverage includes anthropology, business and economics, history, literature, political science, and sociology.
This Spanish language full text resource offers access to over 800 scientific journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Major topics include economics, education, social sciences, psychology, health sociology, agriscience, biology and medicine.
The REDIB is a platform for aggregating open access scientific and academic content in electronic formats produced in the Ibero-American space. These provide access to, and facilitate the dissemination and implementation of scientific work done in the countries where it operates, particularly in the various languages belonging to them.
A multidisciplinary archive resource across the humanities. Source documents include books, journals, manuscripts, historical and contemporary maps, newspapers, and videos. Subject coverage include migration, fruit industry, architecture, and gender issues. Material in multiple languages.
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Coverage is from 1991 onwards and includes political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, development studies, environmental studies and country analysis. Source documents included are: books, journals, videos, conference proceedings, working papers, country data and maps.
Contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource includes over 101,000 indexed documents including glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs. Covers critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is a United States government agency that translates the text of daily radio and television broadcasts; newspapers and periodicals; government statements; books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. FBIS covers such topics as military affairs; politics; the environment; societal issues; economics, and science and technology. Reports are available from 1941 to 1996. Daily reports with translations are issued for Africa; Asia; Australia/Oceania; Caribbean; Europe; Middle East/Near East; North and South America.