LibGuides: Finance and Economics: Data and statistical sources

Data and statistical sources for Finance and Economics

Australian Bureau of Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Australian Bureau of Statistics serves government, business, and the general population through its provision of statistics on a wide range of economic and social matters. It is updated daily with data on the economy, environment and energy, industry, people and regions. Also includes statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.
Australian Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The Australian Data Archive (ADA) is a Core Trust Seal certified repository, based in the ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods (CSRM) at the Australian National University (ANU). ADA was established at the ANU in 1981 with a brief to provide a national service for the collection and preservation of digital data relating to social, political and economic affairs and to make these data available for further analysis.
China Premium, Indonesia Premium & Global Database (CEIC) This link opens in a new window
Select 'Click here for Guest Access' or 'Register now' to use this resource.
This global database contains over a million time series, covering economies from the United States, China, Vietnam, Bulgaria, Chile and more. It covers key indicators such as GDP, GNP, FDI, and CPI as well as detailed, hard to find information on inflation, exports, and tourism.
The China Premium Database, available in both English and Chinese, offers over 293,000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949.
The Indonesia Premium Database offers over 200,000 time-series records on macroeconomic and sector data. For each data segment, full coverage of Indonesia’s 33 provinces is included.
Comtrade: UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database This link opens in a new window
This economics database contains the records of 130 countries’ annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. Coverage begins for some countries from 1962. Licence allows access to the Centre d'Études Prospectives et d'Informations Internationales (CEPII) and World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS). To get your authorization code, go to My Account/Account Info. Each user should input their own email address here and click update. Click on My Account/Account Info after updating email to copy authorization code which needs to be pasted onto the appropriate CEPII page in order to gain access to the database.
Data.gov.au This link opens in a new window
This is the data portal for the Australian Government. Data.gov.au provides an easy way to find, access and reuse public data. In addition to open datasets, data.gov.au also includes information about unpublished data and data available for purchase.
DatAnalysis Premium This link opens in a new window
Detailed reports for all current and formerly listed companies on the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX). These reports are updated daily from relevant ASX announcements, and include announcements, financial data for the last 10 years and scanned images of annual reports.
Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
This independent international business resource provides data on industries, countries and consumers. It features internationally comparable statistics, full text market reports, commentary from analysts, company profiles, country profiles and statistics, lifestyle analysis and lifestyle indicators. The material is continuously updated.
Eurostat This link opens in a new window
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe. Eurostat offers a whole range of important and interesting data that governments, businesses, the education sector, journalists and the public can use for their work and daily life.
Google Dataset Search This link opens in a new window
This is a search engine to help researchers locate online data that are freely available for use, such as the datasets of government agencies, scientific publishers, research institutions and even individual researchers.
IMF Data This link opens in a new window
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
OECD Data This link opens in a new window
This site allows users to find, compare and share the latest Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) data: charts, maps, tables and related publications. It has statistical tools and APIs for data collection and analysis.
UN Data: A World of Information This link opens in a new window
This is the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank: Data makes available free and open access data about development in countries around the globe including searchable datasets. Provides an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries, and generate tables, charts, and maps.

Unreserve - Archive of the RBA
Unreserved is the online platform to access the Reserve Bank of Australia Archives. Unreserved allows you to directly access digitised copies of selected archival records as well as information about the entire archival collection.
The Reserve Bank is custodian of a rich and varied archive of records that spans nearly 200 years of Australia’s economic, financial and social history – from the convict era through to more recent times. This is because the Reserve Bank descended from the original Commonwealth Bank of Australia which had a central banking function and had absorbed other banks with a colonial history.
In addition to directly searching the Archives, there are Research and Series Guides for each Collection. Not all items in the Archives have yet been digitised. As the digitisation program progresses, new content will be uploaded to Unreserved and some will be showcased in Explore our Records.