A library database is a large, searchable, online collection of published scholarly materials.
The ANU Library subscribes to approximately 540 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items, including scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, images, streaming videos, music, and other academic publications.
Offers full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Among the disciplines included are: literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, religion and theology. Content includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
IRIS is a collection of instruments, materials, stimuli, and data coding and analysis tools used for research into second languages, including second and foreign language learning, multilingualism, language education, language use and processing. Materials are freely accessible and searchable, easy to upload (for contributions) and download (for use).
A comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text. JSTOR has a moving wall that excludes most current 3-5 years. The database contains academic journals, images, letters and other primary sources in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.
An international abstract and index database which covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics from 1973 onwards. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
A subject index of scholarly books, journal articles and websites on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics compiled by the Modern Language Association of America. More than sixty languages are represented in the index with coverage starting from 1926 onwards.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on linguistics. Bibliographies are browse-able by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
This full text sciences periodical database from Elsevier offers journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.