Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Popular in format, this brief guide is particularly useful for information on the so-called B films—spaghetti westerns, thrillers, horror films, peplum musclemen epics—which it juxtaposes to the “arthouse” classics of the major directors.
A comprehensive A-Z guide to Italian films past and present, this book includes introductory essays on Italian film, biographies of film-makers, actors, actresses and other personnel, as well as detailed filmographies, significant films, schools of thought and movements, and lists of institutions, technical innovations, awards, critics and archives.
Winner of the 2007 Choice Outstanding Academic Title. Now in its fourth edition, Frank Beaver's Dictionary of Film Terms has become an indispensable reference tool for the study of films and filmmaking. This trusted and practical handbook clearly and concisely defines the essential terms of film analysis, with a special focus on the aesthetic values of filmmaking. This updated, expanded edition covers areas as wide-ranging as digital cinema, direct-to-DVD, and polyphonic film, and includes numerous stills from classic and contemporary films. References to nearly 150 films not cited in previous editions have been added. Extensive cross-referencing among individual definitions ensures easy access to specific terms, and a comprehensive topical index relates to larger concepts of film art. This up-to-date and comprehensive resource is a useful companion for film students and filmgoers, who will find it illuminating in its range and clarity.