The Dictionary provides a better understanding of the role Italian cinema has played in film history through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, appendixes, black-&-white photos, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on actors, actresses, movies, producers, organizations, awards, film credits, and terminology.
The most comprehensive guide to Italian film ever published. Written by the foremost scholar of Italian cinema and presented here for the first time in English, this landmark book traces the complete history of filmmaking in Italy, from its origins in the silent era through its golden age in the 1940s, 1950s, and 1960s, and its subsequent decline to its resurgence today. Gian Piero Brunetta covers more than 1,500 films.
An easy-to-use manual that offers a wide and documented panorama of a century of Italian cinema (from 1896 to 2000). At the end of each chapter a chronology highlights the main facts of the political, social, artistic and cultural life of the country.
This new edition of the bestselling Italian Cinema examines films made from 1989 to the present as well as analyzing the earliest days of Italian filmaking. New coverage includes the Italian horror-film genre, Roberto Benigni (Life Is Beautiful), Bernardo Bertolucci (Stealing Beauty), Franco Zeffirelli (Tea with Mussolini), Michael Radford (The Postman [Il Postino]), Gabriele Salvatores (Mediterraneo), Maurizio Nichetti (The Bicycle Thief), Giuseppe Tornatore (Cinema Paradiso, The Starmaker).
An introductory chapter offers a unique overview of the Italian cinema before 1942. It is followed by a full and profound discussion of neorealism in its heyday, its difficult aftermath in the fifties, the glorious sixties, and finally by an analysis of the contemporary cinematic crisis. Mira Liehm has known personally many of the leading figures in Italian cinema, and her work is rich in insights into their lives and working methods.
Cinema has played a key role in articulating the impact and legacies of the so-called anni di piombo in Italy, the years of intra-national political terrorism that lasted from 1969 until well into the 1980s. Tragedia all'italiana offers an analytical exploration of Italian cinema's representation and refraction of those years, showing how a substantial and still growing corpus of films has shaped the ways in which Italians have assimilated and remembered the events of this period. This is the first monograph in English on terrorism and film in Italy, a topic that is attracting the interest of a wide range of scholars of film, cultural studies and critical terrorism studies. It provides novel analytical categories for an intriguing corpus of films and offers careful accounts of works and genres as diverse as La meglio gioventu, Buongiorno, notte, the poliziottesco (cop film) and the commedia all'italiana. The author argues that fiction film can provide an effective frame for the elaboration of historical experience but that the cinema is symptomatic both of its time and of the codes of the medium itself - in terms of its elisions, omissions and evasions as well as its emphases. The book is a study of a body of films that has elaborated the experience of terrorism as a fascinating and even essential part of the heritage of modern Italy.
Steve Della Casa racconta il cinema italiano da un punto di vista inedito: quello di chi il cinema l’ha fatto e di chi l’ha guardato. È una storia non lineare, inconsueta, raccontata il più possibile dai protagonisti, che mescola il cinema alto con quello commerciale, le punte di creazione artistica con gli espedienti più astuti e più divertenti.
This book is a complete reworking and update of Marga Cottino-Jones' popular A Student's Guide to Italian Film (1983, 1993) . This guide retains earlier editions' interest in renowned films and directors but is also attentive to the popular films which achieved box office success among the public.
An essential guide to the most important historical, aesthetic and cultural aspects of Italian cinema, from 1895 to the present day. With contributions from 39 leading international scholars, the book is structured around six chronologically organised sections. This provocative collection will provide the film student, scholar or enthusiast with a comprehensive understanding of the major developments in what might be called twentieth-century Italy's greatest and most original art form.
A popular and useful guide to Italian films listed by type (art film, various genre categories), particularly important for its discussion of various popular film genres. It is illustrated throughout with rare stills and international posters from this revered era in European cinema and reviews more than 350 movies.
A journey through Italian movie history, taken by Martin Scorsese. Through a passionate look at the movies that have affected him through out the years, Scorsese examines his own formations as a filmmaker and a person. Features Italian classics from directors such as Federico Fellini, Roberto Rossellini, Michaelangelo Antonioni, Luchino Visconti and others and on forgotten greats from less popular directors.
Curiosities and anecdotes told by Nori Corbucci, wife of famous director Sergio Corbucci, on the world of cinema and his most famous characters, from the era of the legendary Via Veneto to the present day. An eye-catching and precious document telling the vices and virtues of the celluloid world and its "sacred monsters", in a kaleidoscope of exciting and unique portraits, intimate and surprising.