Music databases enable researchers to locate articles on specific topics. The music databases listed below cover journals, magazines, and book chapters on music performance, musicology, and performing arts.
IIMP provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, including full-text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. It covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Coverage: 1874 - current
IIPA provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, including full-text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. It covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, performance art, film, television and more.
Coverage: 1864 - current
Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. In addition to journal articles, it provides citations for book reviews and news articles. It includes Indexing and abstracts from nearly 600 journals dating back to 1970.
An international index of scholarly publications about music from 1969 to the present compiled by Le Répertoire international de littérature musicale. RILM is updated monthly and contains abstracts drawn from articles, bibliographies, catalogues, journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, festschriften, critical commentaries to complete works and reviews. It also includes citations of videos, films and ethnographic recordings.