LibGuides: Law: Australian Legal Databases

Australian Legal Databases

The ANU Library provides access to a range of Australian legal databases. The following list is very selective and only covers the major sources of caselaw and legislation. For a more comprehensive list of law related databases click here or see the Cases, Journal Articles and Legislation tabs for further databases covering that type of information.

AGIS (Attorney-General's Information Service) This link opens in a new window
AGIS indexes law journals from the Australian, New Zealand and Asia Pacific region from 1975 onwards. Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific region, plus selected articles from other jurisdictions including United Kingdom, United States and Canada, with articles by researchers worldwide.
AustLII This link opens in a new window
A free database of Australasian primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals) and secondary legal materials such as law reform reports and law journals.
CaseBase This link opens in a new window
CaseBase on Lexis Advance provides access to case annotations. The database contains mainly Australian cases but some UK and NZ cases are included.
CCH IntelliConnect This link opens in a new window
An Australian legal database of subject commentaries, cases, legislation and journals.
Federal Register of Legislation This link opens in a new window
The authorised website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents
Westlaw AU Cases Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
Westlaw AU Cases Advanced Search provides access to case references, citations, litigation history, and digest information for Australian cases from 1825.
Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of Australian legal databases including CaseBase (a case citator), Halsbury's laws of Australia (an encyclopaedia), case law, legislation, journals and subject commentaries.
Westlaw AU This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of Australian legal databases including The Laws of Australia (an encylopaedia), case law, legislation, journals and commentaries.