Format the bibliography in Word

Your bibliography will be automatically formatted using the style that is currently selected in EndNote. You can change the bibliography style from within both EndNote and  Word.

In Word, use the Bibliography group on the EndNote ribbonribbon (Mac: style drop-down on the floating EndNote toolbar in Word for Mac) to make changes to the bibliographic style. If the required style is not immediately available from the drop-down, it can be found by selecting the Select Another Style option.

• Format Bibliography
  Even if you have already inserted references and generated your bibliography with a style, you can easily change the style by using the drop down menu of styles next to With output style and watch changes being applied to the formatting of your references after selecting OK.

• Layout
  The layout tab allows you to change the font, the indenting, and line spacing of references in the bibliography.

Create a single bibliography from multiple subdocuments

The various chapters of your paper or thesis may exist as a number of subdocuments, each with EndNote generated citations and a bibliography at the end. When these subdocuments are combined to a master document EndNote needs to be managed to produce one merged bibliography.

To create a single bibliography from multiple documents:

1. In each of the subdocuments go to the EndNote tab and, in the Bibliography group, select the Convert to Unformatted Citations command under the Convert Citations and Bibliography drop-down (Mac: from the CWYW Tools drop-down on the floating EndNote toolbar in Word for Mac).

The appearance of the in-text or footnote citations will change and there will be
no bibliography.

2. Save and close each subdocument.

3. Insert each subdocuments into a newly created master document in Word by selecting Insert, and then Object and then Text from File. 

Note: Alternatively, you are able to use the master document tool in Word. For instructions refer to ILP's Word - Putting it all together.

4. To re-generate one single bibliography and format all citations in the newly created master document, go to the EndNote tab and, in the Bibliography group, use the style drop-down and the Update Citations and Bibliography command (Mac: select the Format button on the floating EndNote toolbar in Word for Mac)..

Independent bibliographies

There may be times when you want to create a bibliography without an associated paper. We call this an independent bibliography. Each of the four procedures described below can be used to create an independent bibliography. Each has its own advantages, so look for the option that best suits your needs.

Drag-and-drop

References can be dragged from an EndNote library to a Word document. The references are sorted and formatted according to the rules of the selected style.

1. Display a new Word document next to the EndNote library for which you wish to generate a bibliography.
2. In the EndNote library select the required style from the style drop-down.
3. Select the references for the bibliography.
4. Drag the selection to the Word document.
5. On the EndNote tab in Word, select Update Citations and Bibliography from the Bibliography group
   (Mac: select the Format button on the floating EndNote toolbar in Word for Mac).

A bibliography is generated. The stand-alone citations above the bibliography can be deleted and the bibliography can be printed.

Copy formatted

Use the Copy Formatted command to quickly create and copy a bibliography that you can paste into a Word document or anywhere else. The references are sorted and formatted according to the rules of the selected style.

The font used for the Copy Formatted command is the General Display Font which can be changed by choosing Preferences from the Edit menu, selecting Display Fonts, and choosing a new font and size under the General Display Font heading. All text style information (such as bold and italic) is retained if you paste into a program that recognizes RTF (Rich Text Format) text.

To Copy Formatted references from EndNote and paste them into a Word document:

1. Open your EndNote library and select the desired references in the EndNote Library window
2. From the style drop-down, select the required style
3. From the Edit menu, choose Copy Formatted to copy the references to the Clipboard
4. Open a document in Word, put the cursor where you would like the references to appear, and choose Paste from Word’s Home tab

Export references

To export references from a library:

1. Open your EndNote library and select the desired references in the EndNote Library window.
2. Select File and then Export.
3. On the Export file name dialog box, chose a File name, a file type (file type Rich Text Format creates text formatted in Normal style when opened with Word) and an Output Style. Chose a location for the created file, for example Desktop. Select Save.
4. Open the created file from its location, for example Desktop.

Print and preview references

To print references directly from EndNote, go to the File menu and select Print. Alternatively, select Print Preview to format references onscreen.

Note: These are quick ways to view your formatted references on paper or on screen; no special page layout options are provided. Typical uses might include trying out various output styles, printing a list of references to take to the library with you, printing your notes, or generating a complete printout of the references in an EndNote library.