Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A regnal year is a year of the reign of a sovereign. To convert a regnal year reference to a date click here for a calculator.
British Legal Databases
legislation.gov.uk carries most types of UK Legislation and is managed by the National Archives. The browse page lists a comprehensive breakdown of the types of legislation held on this site.
UK cases from the Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports, Times Law Reports and Daily Cases
British and Irish Legal Information Institute
English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867)
Search by case name or nominative citation through HeinOnline
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
The Old Bailey Proceedings Online makes available a fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913, and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts between 1676 and 1772.
Datamining with Criminal Intent
This project brings together three online resources: the Old Bailey Online, Zotero and TAPoR. It allows users to study the rich Old Bailey resource (127 milllion words of trial accounts), using analytical tools from TAPoR like Voyeur and information management tools like Zotero.
Anglo-American Legal Tradition
"Documents from medieval and early modern England from the National Archives of London"
British History Online
A digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Legal resources can be found under the Administrative and legal history subject tab.
Ordinary of Newgate’s Accounts
Ordinary of Newgate was the chaplain of Newgate prison, and it was his duty to provide spiritual care to prisoners who were condemned to death. One of the perquisites of the Ordinary's position was the right to publish an account of the prisoners’ last dying speeches and behaviour on the scaffold, together with stories of their lives and crimes.
Medieval English Legal History: An Index and Paraphrase of Printed Year Book Reports, 1268 - 1535
Year Books are the law reports of medieval England. The earliest examples date from about 1268, and the last in the printed series are for the year 1535. The Year Books are the principal source materials for the development of legal doctrines, concepts, and methods for this period.
This database indexes all year book reports printed in the chronological series for all years between 1268 and 1535.
Early English Laws
A project to publish online and in print new editions and translations of all English legal codes, edicts, and treatises produced up to the time of Magna Carta 1215.
Online History of Human Rights in the UK 1215-1945
The National Archives of the United Kingdom has created an online exhibition that traces the historical development of legal and human rights in Great Britain from the Magna Carta in 1215 to the emergence of the modern post-WWII Welfare State.
The collection contains many digitized images of important documents held at the National Archives, such as the Magna Carta itself, the Poor Law Act of 1601, papers from the famous seditious libel trial against MP John Wilkes in the 1760s, newspaper accounts of 19th-century working class movements, and material about the Suffragettes.
General British Legal Resources