Skip to main content
Skip navigation

 

EndNote X7

Import filters

The direct import option is not available with all online databases or library catalogues. However, a  bibliographic record can still be downloaded to your computer from the database or catalogue and imported into your EndNote library.

What is an EndNote filter?

An EndNote filter (file extension ENF) is a file that contains the instructions EndNote needs in order to translate a library record into an EndNote compatible format. Most databases require a specific filter. Your EndNote installation comes with a number of filter files and additional filters can be found in the ANU Online EndNote site or by searching the Internet. Save new filter files to the filter folder in the Endnote directory on C: drive.

Databases that have EndNote filters you can use

Not all databases subscribed to by ANU have filters for downloading references into EndNote. To see the list of filters supplied with the software go to the EndNote Edit menu and select Import Filters and then Open Filter Manager.

When you bring up the list you will need to scroll to the database you wish to use, then look in the Information Provider column to check to see if the provider is one that the ANU uses. Some databases are listed here that the ANU does not subscribe to.

When you click on/select the database you intend to use, you will see a set of download instructions in the Comments box at the bottom of the page. These can give you valuable tips about how to save your data so that it will work with this filter. Any time you fail to import results with a filter you should come back and read these instructions as failure to follow these directions can be a reason for unsuccessful importing.

Place a tick in the box beside the filters you will be using. This will make them available in the import menu.

Tip: Other filter files can be located from various sources, including the EndNote website. Take care when sourcing the files; it is important to use the correct file for the resources used at ANU.

Import references using a filter file

  1. Search the appropriate database for articles of interest to you.
  2. In the results list, select the required records by checking the boxes next to them.
  3. Save these records to your computer as a text (TXT) file.
  4. Go to EndNote.
  5. Open the EndNote library that you wish to use.
  6. From the File menu, select Import and then File.
  7. Select Choose and locate the TXT file you saved in step 3.
  8. In Import Option of the Import File dialog, select the correct filter. You may have to select Other Filters… to access filters not listed.
  9. Set other options as shown.
    Tip: It is not recommended to select Discard Duplicates from the Duplicates drop-down list
  10. Select Import. Your imported references should now be displayed in EndNote.
  11. To display all references go to the References menu and select Show All References or select All References on the My Library panel. 

Import references using the ANU Library catalogue

  1. Conduct your ANU Library catalogue search
  2. In the results list, select the required records by checking the boxes next to them
  3. Select Save Marked Records
  4. Select the Export Saved tab at the top of the page
  5. Select EndNote/RefoWorks in the Format of List column and Local Disk in the Send List to column
  6. Select Submit
  7. On the Opening Save As dialog, select the directory where you wish to save the file and then select <Save>
  8. Import the file into your EndNote library, using the ANU Library filter anu-lib. Follow instructions above.

Download Filter files

University installations of Endnote should contain all the required filter files. If you require additional files, the ANU Online EndNote site contains a great number of them.

Other filter files can be located from various sources, including the EndNote website. If possible, save new Filter Files to the appropriate Endnote directory at
C:\Program Files\EndNote X*\Filters (Windows)
or
Applications/EndNote X*/Filters (Mac).
They will then be available from the Import button on the EndNote library window toolbar.

Check folder locations

By default EndNote should look to the correct folders when choosing filer files. However, as this may have been changed on shared machines, it is worthwhile checking the location before you begin. To do this:

  1. Select Preferences from the Edit menu.
  2. Choose Folder Locations from the list on left and modify as necessary.

Responsible Officer: University Librarian/Page Contact: Library Systems & Web Coordinator