Skip to main content
Skip navigation

 

EndNote X7

Online search

Online search

When you use Online Search you work within EndNote from where you connect to the external source (for example a library catalogue or database). There are limitations to the search interface used for Online Search, so for complex searches the Direct Import, or the method employing Import Filters should be used.

Online Search uses a Connection File. It is an easy and quick way to bring in references from library catalogues, especially if you already know the author or title of the reference you want to import into EndNote.

Connect to a library catalogue or database

  1. In EndNote, use the Online Search group to select frequently searched databases and library catalogues. Select the catalogue or database you wish to connect to (for example ANU Library). 

    Note: The Online Search group is only available in Integrated Library & Online Search Mode and in Online Search Mode.

    If the required search is not displayed, select more to access the Choose a Connection dialog. This dialog is also available from the Online Search button on the EndNote library window toolbar. While you can connect to most of the library catalogues, you only have access to those databases to which ANU subscribes. Once you have made your selection select Choose.
     
  2. Searching an online database is very similar to searching an EndNote library. Enter the search terms in the Search Panel.

    Note: When using Online Search you may not have advanced searching capabilities available.
     
  3. Select the appropriate Field from the drop-down list (for example Author, Title)
  4. Select the required Boolean operator (AND, OR, NOT)
  5. To add or remove fields select + or - at the end of each line
  6. Select Search when you are satisfied with your search strategy
  7. In the Confirm Online Search pop-up box you will see how many references you have retrieved. Select OK to continue or, if you have retrieved too many results, select Cancel to return to the search panel. Refine your search by entering additional search terms

Retrieved references will be displayed under the Online Search group heading.

If you have conducted your search from Online Search Mode, required references will have to be copied to the Local Library (All References) using the Copy to Local Library button on the Library window toolbar.

At this point you may want to check for duplicate references by selecting References and then Find Duplicates.

Tip: When you import information, it is important to check your records and ensure that all relevant information has been imported.

Note: Searching licenced databases requires an ANU IP address and will not work from off campus.

Connection files

Connection files let you connect directly to a database or catalogue and search it from within the EndNote program. Connection files will only work with those databases that comply with an international standard called Z39.50.

Download Connection files

University installations of Endnote should contain all the required Connection files. If you require additional files, the ANU Online EndNote site contains a great number of them.

Other Connection files can be located from various sources, including the EndNote website. If possible, save new Connection files to the appropriate Endnote directory at
C:\Program Files\EndNote X*\Connections (Windows)
or
Applications/EndNote X*/Connections (Mac).

Check folder locations

By default EndNote should look to the correct folders when choosing Connection files. However, as this may have been changed on shared machines, it is worthwhile checking the location before you begin. To do this

  1. Select Preferences from the Edit menu.
  2. Choose Folder Locations from the list on left and modify as necessary.

EndNote in action

Responsible Officer: University Librarian/Page Contact: Library Systems & Web Coordinator