Skip to main content
Skip navigation

 

EndNote X7

Online databases

For the following examples, use the alphabetical E-resources & databases A-Z listing on the ANU Library website.

Web of Science

To import records directly from Web of Science

1. On the E-resources & databases A-Z listing select W for Web of Science
2. Connect to the Web of Science database and perform your search
3. Mark required references by placing ticks in the boxes beside them
4. Select Save to EndNote desktop from the drop-down above the search results list.

Tip: Records from consecutive searches can be added to a marked list by selecting <Add to Marked List> and exported from there, if needed. To then export records from the Marked List, select the Marked List tab directly below the Web of Science banner.

5. Select the information to be included in the output from the Record Content drop-down. Select Send.
6. If prompted, select Open
7. You may be prompted to access your EndNote Library. References will be imported directly. Records will be added to My Library and to the Unfiled group.
8. The Imported References group displays records from the last import. Select some of the newly imported references and check on the Reference Tab of the Tabs Panel that the information has been transferred correctly.

Note: There may be slight variations of the above steps with different browsers.

Tip: Follow these instructions for Web of Knowledge and Current Contents (via ISI).

Proquest

To import records directly from Proquest:

  1. On the E-resources & databases A-Z listing select P for Proquest
  2. Connect to the Proquest database and perform your search
  3. Mark required references by placing ticks in the boxes beside them
  4. Hover with your mouse above Export/Save and select EndNote, Citavi, Reference Manager. Select Continue - you may need to scroll to the bottom of the dialog
  5. If prompted, select Open with (ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper) and OK
  6. If your EndNote library is not open you will be prompted to access your EndNote Library. References will be imported directly
  7. The Imported References group displays records from the last import. Select some of the newly imported references and check on the Reference Tab of the Tabs Panel that the information has been transferred correctly.

Note: There may be slight variations of the above steps with different browsers.

JSTOR

To import records directly from JSTOR:

  1. On the E-resources & databases A-Z listing, select J for JSTOR
  2. Connect to the JStor database and perform your search
  3. Tick the boxes of articles you wish to export
  4. From the Export Selected Citations dropdown select Export a RIS file
  5. On the Opening citations.ris dialog select Open with
  6. If your EndNote library is not open you will be prompted to access your EndNote Library. References will be imported directly
  7. The Imported References group displays records from the last import. Select some of the newly imported references and check on the Reference Tab of the Tabs Panel that the information has been transferred correctly.

Note: There may be slight variations of the above steps with different browsers.

Responsible Officer: University Librarian/Page Contact: Library Systems & Web Coordinator